Switching to 2GIG GC2 vs GC3

Hello! Im kind of new to DIY but I have had a Honeywell panel for some time. Its older and I’m looking to upgrade. It seems if i get a 2GIG panel i can re-use my sensors, is this true? Most importantly, what are the differences between the GC2 and the GC3 panels?

As far as the sensors are concerned, if you are using Honeywell wireless sensors, they will indeed work with either 2GIG panel. They both use the same 345MHz wireless protocol. If you are using hardwired sensors, those can be converted to wireless via the 2GIG TAKE-345 takeover module, which is also compatible with both panels. Keep in mind this will not work for life safety devices.

As for a comparison, I’ll list out some specs of both panels and then briefly cover some pros and cons below:

2GIG GC2 Panel

• User friendly resistive touch screen (3.75” X 2.25”)
  • 60 wireless zones
  • 2 wired zones
  • Supports 8 Wireless Key Ring remotes(2GIG KEY2-345) and 4 Wireless Keypads (2GIG PAD1-345)
  • Built-in Z-Wave radio
  • Z-Wave Device to Device Association
  • Full voice response
  • Remote over-the-air (OTA) software updates
  • 64 user codes
  • Chime by zone with multiple chime settings
  • Alarm specs: 85 dB at 10ft
  • Compatible with the 2GIG TS1 Secondary Touchscreen Panel (via XCVR2-345 900MHz transceiver)
  • Compatible with Image Sensor (via XCVR2-345 900MHz transceiver)
  • WiFi Dual Path (via XCVR2-345 and 2GIG Go!Bridge)

2GIG GC3 Panel

• 7” color, capacitive touchscreen with 800 x 480 resolution
  • 100 wireless zones
  • 2 wired zones
  • Up to 100 user codes
  • 32 Keyfobs (2GIG KEY2-345) and 4 Keypads (2GIG PAD1-345)
  • Z-wave radio (up to 232 devices)
  • Full voice response
  • Firmware Updates via USB
  • Chime by zone with multiple chime settings
  • Wifi Dual Path(currently not enabled)