New System Advice

Hi,

Disregard the email I sent on this.

We recently moved into a new home in a low crime area, home is a good size, ~4300 sqft over 3 floors with no existing alarm.

I have some past experience with the setup of a DSC 1832 hardwired system in our previous home and have been tinkering quite a bit with lately with home automation using the SmartThings platform.

Goals for the new system:
• Self-install via wireless sensors
• Modern panel interface
• Extreme reliability of alarm hardware and reporting
• ADC integration
• Nice to have – alarm panel allows SmartThings to read alarm sensors

Given the above, I was focusing attention on the newest 2gig and Qolsys systems. On paper, I really like the Qolsys but I’m sensing its more “temperamental” than the 2gig system and it possibly doesn’t play as nice with SmartThings?

I also saw the integrated (ADT branded) 2gig/SmartThings system for sale. Any idea if I can just bring that over to ADC?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Happy to help out.

Goals for the new system: • Self-install via wireless sensors • Modern panel interface • Extreme reliability of alarm hardware and reporting • ADC integration

All of this is easy to achieve with either 2GIG or Qolsys equipment. suretyDIY is an Alarm.com service provider. This page gives a quick description of how our service works.

Nice to have – alarm panel allows SmartThings to read alarm sensors

This is not possible with any Alarm.com compatible panel. Alarm sensor status is transmitted only to ADC directly and is not shared via Z-wave reporting. Keep in mind with Alarm.com you can create numerous rules which activate Z-wave devices based on sensor activity. These rules are saved locally on the panel and run locally when the trigger occurs.

When it comes to automation based on sensor activity/alarm activity, you will generally have much more granularity and ease of use with Alarm.com rules than any third party integration.