DSC Iotega

I have purchased the ADC-compatible, dual-path DSC Iotega, and I need a service provider for programming and monitoring.

Due to the non-DIY nature of the DSC iotega, we are unable to offer service to users with the iotega at this time. However, I believe that we are looking into being able to offer service in the near future.

There aren’t a lot of first-hand user accounts of the DSC Iotega, so I thought I’d update this post to offer my thoughts for the benefit of anyone considering it.

I was ultimately dissatisfied with the Iotega, so I returned/sold portions of the system; overall, I am much happier with the Qolsys IQ2 Panel Plus. On paper, the Iotega is very impressive, but I quickly became frustrated with its lack of local, end-user programming and apparent poor integration with Alarm.com. As a systems administrator, I should have known that I wouldn’t appreciate the lack of control; however, it was more limiting than I had imagined, which was exacerbated by my service provider’s (not Surety) inexperience with the Iotega. Despite having been available for at least a year now, hardly any service providers are familiar with it, so good luck obtaining quality service and support.

My service provider (again, not Surety) had a difficult time programming the Iotega and its optional touchscreen keypad. It required multiple support calls over the course of a couple weeks to get the system configured properly; several of those calls required additional assistance from Alarm.com and DSC personnel. In the end, it never functioned exactly as I wanted due to very limited (compared with Qolsys) zone type selections for door/window contacts and motion sensors in the Alarm.com programming app, which were inconsistent with the Iotega’s documentation. As I understand it, the Iotega was originally designed for compatibility with SecureNet; perhaps that version is better, but I feel as though DSC rushed the Alarm.com version to market.